JAMBASE - Today’s New Albums: Planet Drum, Neil Young & Promise Of The Real + More

August 5, 2022
Source: https://www.jambase.com/article/new-albums-planet-drum-neil-young-promise-real

Planet Drum – In The Groove

Planet Drum released In The Groove, the global rhythm ensemble’s first new album since 2007’s Global Drum Project. The group, who earned the first-ever Grammy Award in the World Music category for their 1991 self-titled debut LP, consists of Grateful Dead/Dead & Company drummer Mickey Hart, tabla master Zakir Hussain of India, legendary conguero (conga player) Giovanni Hidalgo of Puerto Rico and talking drum virtuoso Sikiru Adepoju of Nigeria. Additional contributions came from singer/drummers from Benin, West Africa, Melissa Hie and Ophelia Hie. The album also features a recording of Planet Drum’s “father,” the late Nigerian percussionist Babatunde Olatunji, who appeared on 1991’s Planet Drum and passed away in 2003 at age 75. The recording was made during the 1995 sessions for Hart’s Mystery Box album. In The Groove began with the acclaimed musicians recording remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Once the situation improved, the expert percussionists came together at Hart’s recording facility in California to create their first album in 15 years.


External Link: https://www.jambase.com/article/new-albums-planet-drum-neil-young-promise-real