The Apocalypse Now Sessions

Track List


Check out photos from The Apocalypse Now Sessions here.

  101 Compound Rhythm Devils 3:17  
  102 Trenches Rhythm Devils 3:52  
  103 Street Gang Rhythm Devils 2:14  
  104 The Beast Rhythm Devils 4:12  
  105 Steps Rhythm Devils 2:26  
  106 Tar Rhythm Devils 1:38  
  107 Lance Rhythm Devils 2:50  
  108 Cave Rhythm Devils 5:55  
  109 Hell's Bells Rhythm Devils 3:29  
  110 Kurtz Rhythm Devils 4:49  
  111 Napalm For Breakfast Rhythm Devils 3:25







The Apocalypse Now Sessions
Rhythm Devils 

Director Francis Ford Coppola asked Mickey Hart to provide a percussive underscore for his 1979 film Apocalypse Now. Combining the quiet sounds of tablas with harsher sounds of drumsets and demonstrating Hart’s propensity for unusual time signatures, the album echoes the tones of war and death, and features extended tracks as well as tracks not included on the original LP release. Says Hart, “If you are paranoid, please don't listen to this music. It is dark... The music reaches out and grabs you. It is sad...and cats hate it.” Originally released in 1980, The Apocalypse Now Sessions was reissued in its expanded form in 1991 as part of “THE WORLD” series (now part of the Mickey Hart Collection made available by Smithsonian Folkways).

VIDEO: The Making Of With Mickey & Fred Liberman

RECORD LABEL Mickey Hart Collection
SOURCE ARCHIVE Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
COPYRIGHT 2011 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / The Mickey Hart Collection

GENRE(S) World 
COUNTRY(S) United States