Mysterium Tremendum

Track List

  1. Heartbeat of the Sun
  2. Slow Joe Rain
  3. Cut the Deck
  4. Starlight Starbright
  5. Who Stole The Show?
  6. Djinn Djinn
  7. This One Hour
  8. Supersonic Vision
  9. Time Never Ends
  10. Let There Be Light
  11. Ticket To Nowhere
  12. Through Endless Skies

Release Date: April 10, 2012

Label: 360° Productions

Mysterium Tremendum was created by having the Mickey Hart Band, with guest percussionists and other musicians, play music along with what Hart has called "cosmic sounds". These sounds were created by taking light, radio waves, and other electromagnetic radiation given off by celestial objects such as the sun, planets, stars, and galaxies, and using computers to transform it into sound waves. Hart stated, "I have combined sonic images of the formation of our universe with sounds drawn from musical instruments. It's all about the vibrations that make up the infinite universe. In this case, they began as light waves and these light waves are still washing over us. Scientists at Penn State, Lawrence Berkeley Labs, and Meyer Sound have transformed these light waves into sound waves." Hart said that he worked with George Smoot, a scientist who, with John C. Mather, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2006 for his work in cosmic microwave background radiation.Seven of the twelve tracks on the album have lyrics written by Robert Hunter, who wrote the words for many Grateful Dead songs.


"Hart's constant groove exploration and "infinite universe" attitude keep the music mysterious, if not tremendous."

--Justin Jacobs, Relix

"The music itself is fabulous, compelling and complex."

--Doug Heselgrave, No Depression

"the songs, about half with lyrics by Dead lyricist Robert Hunter, take off for the heavens because of the stellar playing, production, solid melodies and a vibrant approach that makes every track shimmer."

--Hal Horowitz, American Songwriter

"This album has a universal appeal.  It's infectious with its rhythms; you'll find yourself spontaneously moving with the beat.  The thematic flow from start to end makes you want to listen to the album in its entirety.  Fans of the Grateful Dead will love it for its experimental flavor and the Robert Hunter lyrics.  It's one of the first real new works to come out of the Dead family in years and may end up being Mickey Hart's best solo work so far."

--Steve Moyles, Kind Web

"This is one of the most innovative and interesting albums I have heard in a long time.  Mickey and his awesome band break new musical ground and show us the future of music."

--Dr. Tom, The HipHappy Times