Honor the Earth Powwow: Songs of the Great Lakes Indians

Track List


  101 Grand Entry Song Little Otter Singers 4:20  
  102 Intertribal Dance Song LCO Soldiers' Drum 4:51  
  103 We're The People Smokeytown Singers 9:43  
  104 Sneak-Up Dance Song Bad River Singers 2:47  
  105 Winnebago Army Song Winnebago Sons of Baraboo 4:45  
  106 Intertribal Dance Song Bear Claw Singers 5:46  
  107 Ojibway Air Force Song LCO Soldiers' Drum 3:04  
  108 Intertribal Dance Song Bad River Singers 5:44  
  109 Intertribal Dance Song Three Fires Society Drum 9:03  
  110 Intertribal Dance Song Little Otter Singers 4:14




Honor the Earth Powwow: Songs of the Great Lakes Indians
Various Artists 

The powwow has become an opportunity for North American tribes to gather together to honor the earth and its creator in celebratory drumming, dancing and song. The Honor The Earth Powwow, featuring the Ojibway, Menominee and Winnebago tribes, is characteristic in that its repertoire includes traditional song styles as well as new songs written in traditional style. Recorded in July 1990 by Mickey Hart and Dr. Thomas Vennum Jr., the music of the powwow consists of singers sitting in a circle in a drum arbor, beating on a single drum, and singing in high-pitched voices while elaborately-costumed dancers move clockwise around them. Among the album’s new songs is “Ojibway Air Force Song,” a song that came to an Ojibway tribe member in his sleep and was composed for his son who was serving overseas in the United States Air Force. Honor The Earth Powwow: Songs of the Great Lakes Indians was originally released as part of “THE WORLD” series (now part of the Mickey Hart Collection made available by Smithsonian Folkways).

Visit The Photo Gallery

RECORD LABEL Mickey Hart Collection
SOURCE ARCHIVE Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
COPYRIGHT 2011 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / The Mickey Hart Collection

GENRE(S) American Indian 
COUNTRY(S) United States