Track List

  1. Angola
  2. Yabu
  3. Endless River
  4. Umayeyo
  5. Secret Meeting Place
  6. Tall Grass
  7. Umasha
  8. Frog Dance
  9. Damawoo
  10. Indoscrub
  11. Wheel Of Time
  12. Space Dust

Release Date: August 4, 1998
Label: Rykodisc

upralingua is an album by former Grateful Dead drummer Mickey Hart and his percussion ensemble Planet Drum. It was released on CD by Rykodisc Records on August 4, 1998.Like the band's previous album, Planet Drum, Supralingua showcases drum music from multiple cultures, combined to produce a percussion-based world music sound. It also incorporates samples and computer generated sounds, some of them created using a computer workstation called RAMU (Random Access Musical Universe). The name of the album means "beyond language" or "beyond words".Supralingua reached number 4 on the Billboard chart for Top World Music Albums.


"Supralingua is a serious, mind-bending, psychedelic journey. It's a surreal, spiritual experience that is full of rich textures and dense grooves. Anyone even remotely curious about the power of drumming will find not only that the album's forceful energy is immediately overwhelming but also that it will lead to enlightenment."

--John Metzger, The Music Box

"The list of percussionists is a dream team: Zakir Hussain, Giovanni Hidalgo, Sikiru Adepoju and David Garibaldi. The musicians create a hypnotic percussive ambiance, combined with mesmerizing melodies that span the globe."

--Aromoero, World Music Central